Davao Region” (officially known as “Region XI”) is an administrative region in the Philippines located in the southeastern part of the island of Mindanao. It is composed of four provinces: Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental, Davao del Sur, and Davao de Oro (formerly Compostela Valley). The regional center and largest city is Davao City and the “King City of the South“, which serves as the economic and cultural hub of the region.

Davao Region covers a total land area of approximately 20,357 square kilometers (7,860 square miles). It is characterized by lush mountains, fertile valleys, coastal plains, and pristine beaches. One of the notable features of the region is Mount Apo, the highest peak in the Philippines, has an elevation of approximately 2,954 meters (9,692 feet) above sea level. Mount Apo is a popular destination for mountaineers and nature enthusiasts, offering breathtaking views and unique biodiversity.

The region is known for its rich agricultural resources, earning it the nickname “Fruit Basket of the Philippines.” Major agricultural products include bananas, durians, pomelos, mangosteens, and coconuts. The agricultural sector plays a significant role in the region’s economy, providing livelihood and employment opportunities for its residents.

  • Area: 20,357 km²
  • Provinces: 5
  • Municipalities: 43
  • Barangays: 1162
  • Languages: Cebuano; Mandaya; Kalagan; Giangan; Dibabawon; Tagabawa; Mansaka; Sangirese; Obo; Sarangani; Filipino; English

Aside from agriculture, Davao Region has a thriving industrial and commercial sector. It is home to various industries, including manufacturing, agribusiness, tourism, information technology, and business process outsourcing. Davao City, in particular, has experienced rapid economic growth and has become a center for trade and commerce in Mindanao.

Davao Region boasts numerous natural attractions, including pristine beaches, waterfalls, hot springs, and diverse marine ecosystems. Some popular tourist spots in the region include Samal Island, Mount Apo, Aliwagwag Falls, Eden Nature Park, and the Davao Crocodile Park.

The region is inhabited by diverse ethnic groups, including indigenous communities such as the Bagobo, Mandaya, Manobo, and Mansaka. These indigenous groups have preserved their cultural heritage, traditional crafts, and rituals.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign In


Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.